Lewes Literary Society

About Us

For seventy years (2018 was our anniversary year!), we’ve been running an annual programme of talks and readings by distinguished speakers from many areas of literary endeavour – novelists, poets, playwrights, biographers, historians, literary critics and travel writers, as well as illustrators and cartoonists.

Leonard Woolf was president of the Club from 1954 until 1969, and our current presidents are Grace Nichols and John Agard.

In October 2015 we gave ourselves a new name – the Lewes Literary Society – and a new home. Since then our events have been held at the All Saints Centre on Friars Walk. And since All Saints couldn’t offer us our usual Monday slot, our events moved to Tuesdays – which is why we felt the need to change our name from the Monday Literary Society to the Lewes Literary Society. You can hear our Chair, Miriam Moss, talking about our relaunch on the October 2015 Love Lewes podcast (this part of the conversation starts about 23:30 minutes in).

Since change was very much in the air, we also decided to shake up our membership system a little. So now, instead of becoming a member, you can buy a season ticket which costs a very reasonable £40 for six talks (as opposed to £10 for a one-off ticket, or £5 for people under 25).

We look forward to welcoming you to this season’s exciting events.